Press: Safe World for Women, 2 July 2012

Lambeth Women Protest, to Save Their Resource Centre

By Claire Shaw, Safe World Student Writer

A Safe Haven Under Threat

Lambeth Women’s Project has played a vital role in providing information, resources and support to women and girls for almost four decades.

However, recent cuts and austerity measures have culminated in an eviction notice from the school building which they use as their resource centre and meeting place.

Members are currently occupying the building in an attempt to save the project, which provides a life-line for many, especially for minority ethnic women.

LWP-2“It’s the best thing that could have happened to me recently. It’s kind of like your safe haven. Since I came here last year, there are other things I am having to deal with, and this environment is very good and nurturing for me personally, to structure me in my current lifestyle situation. You meet other women who are in the same position, and you can connect with these other women and form bonds and relationships. This is like a whole new chapter for me to come along to, and someone is trying to shut the book, and I’m like no, lets leave it open, because I am enjoying it here.”

Read the full article here.

Leave a Reply

